Character: Kim Fletcher

Age: 16years

Ethnicity: Caucasian

Origin: English

Bio: The only child born in to parents Catherine and Mike. Lives in Keswick, Cumbria. Was diagnosed with Facioscapulohumeral Muscular Dystrophy when she was 14years and is now permanently disabled.

An Interview with Sophie

  • Why did you want to be involved in this production? I think that Hate Crime is a massive issue in daily life and especially within the media at the minute. A lot of areas are so close knit and closed off to the world and how many different cultures go about their daily lives. I think it’s important to branch out and show young people from the get go about who different people are, the rights they have to exist like everyone else and be themselves with no prejudice of judgement.
  • What’s challenging about bringing this script to life? I think the script itself is very real and as an actor it’s quite normal to have to embody ‘real roles’ that touch on hard topics. I think the difficult thing with this script is that you don’t want to let the people down who have shared their stories and you almost want to do them justice as well as send out a valuable message to the audience the best you can!
  • What’s going to surprise people about this show? Gosh, that’s a hard one. Surprise? Erm, I’d say maybe at the end. I think the way the script is written is very realistic and it may be hard for our younger audiences to distinguish between the reality of the characters and the fact it has this almost ‘fictional’ element to is as we’re simply actors acting them out. It will be interesting to see the reactions in the post-show talk.
  • How is this character like you and different? Aside from the obvious physical traits of Kim being nearly ten years younger than myself and also that she has muscular dystrophy, I do surprisingly have quite a few traits of hers. She’s very bubbly and outgoing which I am as well and I can link to the use of crutches and the bullying she experiences. I was partially disabled for quite a lot of years in my childhood; not being able to walk. It helps bring Kim to life I guess.
  • Is it easier to play this character or to be yourself on stage? Definitely play the character! I’d much rather be someone else than stand up and be myself on stage any day!
  • Who do you look up to (as an actor/director/etc.)? Oh gosh there are lots really! Stage wise – I love Judi Dench, she’s my idol. TV / Film….I’d have to say either Emily Blunt or go old school and stick with Audrey Hepburn – possibly one of the most classiest and stunning women to have existed in a lot of respects morally and skill wise!
  • What do you do when you’re not doing theatre? I like doing a lot of things really. I also write so you’d usually find me sat somewhere outside with my notebook or in a little corner with my typewriter. I also work with young people and women who have hard hard lives / been through certain unfortunate situations helping them rebuild their lives and exist with confidence again. It’s extremely rewarding!
  • What would be you piece of advice to any young person out there?Be yourself. Talk….talk to anyone about anything. Never feel alone, never be alone and never be afraid of who you are or who anyone else is!

Each of us has a spark of life inside us, and our highest endeavor ought to be to set off that spark in one another.’

img_0999

Leave a Reply

