Character: Joe Macintyre

Age: 16years

Ethnicity: Caucasian

Origin: English

Bio: Born in Carlisle, Cumbria. Homosexual. Child to Jane and Graham. Sibling to little sister Jennifer (Jen.) 

An interview with Kieran:

Why did you want to be involved in this production? I was excited to be in the production and not often as an actor do you come across jobs so involved with helping others. The entertainment industry can feel at times like a selfish business but this role gives me the opportunity to make a huge difference to people’s views of the homosexual community. I love touring and seeing different parts of the country too.

What’s challenging about bringing this script to life and taking on your role? It can be challenging to play vulnerability on stage. As a person who has never been subject to bullying of any kind I often struggle to portray a vulnerable person. However my research into hate crime and looking at statements from victims has helped me empathise with and emote their struggle.

Is it easier to play this character or to be yourself on stage? For me, a character is always easier to be on stage than myself. In front of an audience, when being yourself all of the judgments they make about your behaviour and characteristics are that of your own personality. However when being somebody else, you immerse yourself and therefore leave yourself backstage.

If you could play any other character in this show, who would it be? All the other characters are female so I may struggle playing somebody else! However, if I were to pick one of them and change them to a male, I’d choose Suzy. I’d love the see the response from audiences to a Muslim man.

Who’s the funniest person in the cast in real life? I am the funniest person in the cast…. I feel I should prove that with a funny comment or anecdote but I’d like to just answer the question genuinely!

What’s the last thing you do before you step out on stage /  the curtain goes up?Before going on stage I always stretch and yawn, my body’s way of dealing with nerves is to trick myself into thinking I’m tired. So I shake all the tiredness out before I go on stage.

In one line what would be you piece of advice to any young person out there?  My advice would be… Think.

 

img_0997

Leave a Reply

